Tags

, , , , ,

20130823_110636_Richtone(HDR)I hail from Salisbury, Massachusetts. Salisbury is a small, seaside town that was founded in 1630 by my ancestor, Henry True. Upon graduating high school, I joined the United States Air Force. While serving my country, I gave birth to my beautiful daughter, Calandra. I also met a handsome, shy firefighter that became the love of my life. Patrick and I were married in 1990 and are still going strong.Wedding

I have always had a love of nature and fascination with science. As a teen, I had a beauty product burn my face. It took some time to heal and from that point on, I was chemically sensitive. This led me to make my own skincare products. But the nerd in me needed to know how this all worked, so I became a Medicinal Herbalist.

Being a prolific web surfer and a voracious reader, I have learned many unsettling truths about Big Agro, GMOs, Monsanto, bee population declining in great numbers and chemicals in food killing people. Combining that with the dissatisfaction of food going to waste, I found myself searching for a healthy alternative for my family. I found it in slow foods, the localvore movement and permaculture.

My goal in maintaining this blog is to document my family’s journey toward sustainable gardening, reducing our footprint and having a better relationship with the planet that we all live on. Join me on these Adventures in Natural Living!

